Rock Stories

Let’s play with rocks!

I have really enjoyed exploring the stories of rocks this week.  I’ve learned that rocks make me happy.  There is something meditative about observing, sifting, sorting and arranging rocks.

Today we are going to build little scenes with the rocks we collected on our rock hunts.  You do not need much for the activity:

Materials:
  • rocks
  • pebbles
  • work surface
Optional materials:
  • camera, phone or tablet to take a picture of your rock story
  • heavy paper or cardboard to glue your scene to
  • hot glue or craft glue

I don’t like to accumulate too much “stuff” so I arranged my scene and took a picture to share and for my memories.  I will return the stones to their environment later today.

Here’s today’s How-To video:

I hope you enjoy today’s activity and find it as relaxing as I have.

Tomorrow is Gallery Day!  I am so excited to share with you all the submissions I’ve already received.  If you would like to share your work with others, please see the ” Submitting Student Work” tab at the top of the home page.  I will accept your work at any time.  I hope to post as much work as possible by noon tomorrow, but if you are late with your submission, send it to me anyway at dzibin@sd79.bc.ca.

Yours in making,

🙂 Mme Zibin

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *